Post-Rock…. Pink Floyd and music.


My first post about music, and the first part of the title is pretty weird and most probably you havent ever heard of that term. Neither had I, until 2 days back when I heard a song(Do you call music without vocals , a song? I’m not sure) on youtube by the band ‘God Is An Astronaut’. And I pretty much became a fan of the band and I might probably become a fan of the genre, after I check out a few more bands. So, GIAA is a post rock band, and post rock is a sub genre of rock which consists of solely instrumentals. And the music is great. If you’re as much an avid listener as I am, and you prefer listening to entire albums rather than singles , you’ll love it. It just feels surreal. Its not really peaceful in the music sense, like it isnt slow, its got quite a lot of guitars and drumming , but it just seems quite. This is the kinda music, you would prefer to get yourself into a calm and deep thought. Listen to the single “zodiac” just as a check to see if you’d like the music or not.

The second part of the title is pretty much understood by everyone. Pink Floyd, who hasnt heard about them? The Psychedelic / Progressive rockers who need no introduction. I’ve been listening to Floyd since a long time, but only recently did I listen to entire albums of theirs in one go. And it feels amazing. Seriously, listening to an entire concept album is pretty much a completely different experience.(A concept album is an album with a central theme, and all songs are connected to it.)  Dark Side of The Moon has now become my favourite album . Its an album, about various phases of life and about passage of time, greed, money and mental illness . The latter part is dedicated to Syd Barret, the founding member of the band , who was there with them only on the first album. But due to excessive drug use, was not in a a healthy state of mind later on. The album has to be heard paying every bit of attention to its lyrics. They are wonderful, and the music is calm . Its no surprise, that its their biggest hit. The last 2 songs , Brain Damage and Eclipse, dealing with madness(mental illness) are my favourite tracks of the album (and overall too) along with Time.

I checked out The Wall , the concept on this one is social isolation. This ones pretty good too. But its long, and after the first listen , some of the songs get boring . Its got great songs like Floyd’s most famous  “Another Brick”, “Comfortably Numb”, “Hey you” and some more. And they are amazing, but as an album I’d say DSOTM is much shorter, and better.

Music is one of the things in life, which I’m most obsessed about. So I guess , I’d be writing about it a lot more often. I’m not really inclined to any one genre of music, I’m fine with anything good. But my most played music would be The Doors, Pink Floyd, Beatles, Led Zeppelin and recently The Velvet Underground in that order.  I’d have loved music to still be as it was in the times of these bands. Ill write more about them in later posts.

One thought on “Post-Rock…. Pink Floyd and music.

  1. I read this post about two/three months back, and listened to The Dark Side of The Moon as you suggested. That moment onwards I have been perpetually high on the music of Floyd, LedZep, The Who, RHCP, Lynyrd Skynyrd, GIAA and some more bands. This one post led me on the path of real music (and the idea of listening to entire albums), so I think I owe you a big thank you!

Leave a comment